Chris Smither News

Leave the Light On (2006)


  1. Open Up
  2. Leave the Light On
  3. Shillin’ for the Blues
  4. Seems So Real
  5. Origin of Species
  6. Cold Trail Blues
  7. Diplomacy
  8. Father’s Day
  9. Visions of Johanna
  10. Blues in the Bottle
  11. John Hardy
  12. John Hardy Reprise
SKU: 005 Category:


Leave the Light On (Chris’s second album with producer David “Goody” Goodrich) features seven new songs as well as a few choice covers, and arrangements of traditional songs. The album also features the young neo-gospel group Ollabelle, who bring a complementary loveliness to Smither’s “Seems So Real” and additional resonance to the traditional “John Hardy.” The renowned roots musician Tim O’Brien plays mandolin and fiddle all over the record, and also harmonizes with Smither, Sean Staples and Anita Suhanin on the lilting title track. Atypically, Chris tackles topical themes on “Origin of Species” (which he says is “making fun of dummies”) and the edgily political “Diplomacy,” which harkens back to his roots in the ’60s folk scene. Also different this go round is Smither’s bold and surprising decision to arrange Dylan’s “Visions of Johanna” in 6/8 time (he credits his friend Steve Tilston for the suggestion) which results in a track of otherworldly beauty.

Additional information

Weight 0.15625 lbs
Dimensions 5 × 5.5 × .3 in